What’s my Purpose?

questionWhat is the most important to you? What is it that makes you jump out of bed in the morning ready to tackle the day? What drives you? What makes your heart sing? I can just about guarantee that it is NOT doing dishes. Or laundry. Or any number of mundane tasks that face us each day.

Yet, as wives and mothers, those are the most important things that need to be done in order to keep a well-running household. Dishes and laundry in particular. If you don’t stay on top of them, they will multiply until you are overwhelmed. You won’t have anything to wear. Your favorite outfit that makes you feel awesome is in the bottom of the pile of dirty clothes. You are having to resort to paper plates and plastic silverware because you have nothing clean with which to eat your food. You are stressed out, overwhelmed, and just plain ready to hand it all over to someone else.

**Raises hand** All right. I confess. I’ve been there WAY too many times. If truth be told, there are dishes right now sitting in my sink and on the counter. Honestly, the last thing I really want to do is dishes. I know that there are a few out there who absolutely LOVE to do dishes. Really, there are. I know one. Her name is Ruthie. I think she’s crazy. But I love her anyway. Too bad she doesn’t live near me so that she can wash mine, right? But I know that if I don’t get to them, the situation will escalate.

Another thing that is incredibly helpful in keeping your home running well is menu planning. It saves so much time and money knowing what you are going to feed your family. You get all the supplies you need for your meals at one time and have them on hand so that you are not running last minute to the store–or sending your kids running to the convenience/dollar store a block or so away where you will spend significantly more–either in gas or with higher prices at the convenience store.

I’m not going to get into starting meal prep early enough so that when unexpected things come up (like they did last night) food is ready when it is normal to eat supper, and you’re so tired that your husband has to come to your rescue and pick up fast food. Which is so bad for you, but I didn’t care.

The thing is, we all want to pursue our dreams. We all want to do something significant. But if we can’t develop faithfulness in the little things, how will we be faithful in the big things? I listened to an audio book where a little boy was told that God cared how he made his bed. That really made me think. Does God really care about something so insignificant as a bed–whether it is made nicely or not at all?

I do know that we are to do things decently and in order.

God rewards faithfulness in little things.

God is more concerned about producing character in our lives than in our pleasure.

We are to reflect God’s glory and not do things for our own enjoyment.

I Corinthians 10:31 says, “So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.

So, what are the things that you struggle with that you need to be doing? Let me know and I can be praying for you! As for me, I’m going to tackle the dishes and not stop until they are done. I’m going to plan the menu for next week so that when I go out for lunch tomorrow with my friend, I can actually get my shopping done beforehand. Wouldn’t that be amazing?! And maybe some advanced prep on supper. In the morning? Before lunch? We’ll see. Maybe I’ll do that right after lunch.  I’ll let you know tomorrow how it goes.

Leave a Reply

